Netflix Users Can Now Log Out Remotely

Netflix now allows users to view a list of devices connected to their account and then log out directly or remotely from each device.

With this new feature, users do not need to access a single account on their device first to log out.

Thursday, November 17, 2022 (November 17, 2022) Cited by Engadget, this new access and device management options feature is already available on the website, iOS and Android. According to Netflix, this feature is expected to help make it easier for users.

For example, a user logs in to their Netflix account on a smart TV in a hotel but forgets to log out. With this update, users can remotely shut down any device by simply navigating to their account settings page.

This method also makes it easy for users to categorize which devices their accounts are using. This is because Netflix currently only offers the option to log out of all devices at once.

This new feature also allows users to root other people’s devices using their own account. This new feature also helps users know if someone has accessed their account with a compromised password.

Not only that, but the feature is said to be part of the streaming app’s plans to charge extra for users who share accounts with people outside of their household. As a result, those accounts are billed differently than Netflix.

FYI, it looks like Netflix is ​​starting to make some big changes. One of them has to do with the account sharing trend.

Earlier, the company said it would start cracking down on the Netflix account-sharing trend starting in 2023.

One such method is to create paid sub-accounts under the “Joint Account Monetization” expansion plan.

Netflix is ​​also planning to increase subscription fees for users who share account access and passwords with people outside of their household.

Yes, streaming platforms in the United States (US) plan to increase subscription fees in early 2023.

Users who later share accounts with other non-family members will receive a different bill.

Quote from Gizchina, Tuesday (Jan 11, 2022) Customers will be charged for “Additional Members”.

Unfortunately, the company doesn’t make it clear how much these users will cost.

Netflix previously conducted a test where users in Chile, Costa Rica, and Peru are encouraged to pay more for sub-accounts if they are caught using a user’s subscription while away from home.

The streaming platform in the United States (US) is also testing users in Argentina, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and the Dominican Republic to purchase additional “houses” for Netflix accounts located outside the primary subscriber’s residence.

Also in this week’s earnings report, Netflix claims to have gained 2.4 million additional subscribers in the quarter as it rolls out an ad-supported plan next month and limits password sharing.

Netflix also said that paid subscribers in the US and Canada increased by 104,000 in the past three months, up from 73,000 in the same period last year.

So far, it’s unknown what strategy Netflix will adopt next year to break the habit of sharing accounts, especially among users outside of the country being tested.

Besides, Netflix has officially announced that there are subscription packages with ads. This subscription package is available in 12 countries.

Quoted from Saturday (October 15, 2022) GSM Arena, this package is available in Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Korea, Mexico, Spain, United Kingdom and United States.

This new subscription package is called Basic with Ads. As per schedule, this bundle will be available in Canada from exactly November 1st, and from November 3rd in the UK and US.

In the US, this Netflix subscription package costs $6.99 USD or approximately Rs 107,000. By comparison, the basic Netflix package in the US costs $9.99 or around Rs 153,000.

Netflix previously announced a new feature called Profile Migration that allows people using someone else’s account to migrate their profile when starting their membership.

Timi Kosztin, Product Director, Product Innovation at Netflix, said: “Today we launched Profile Transfer. This feature allows people using your account to transfer their profile when they start their membership.”

A notice on the official website states that this port includes personalized recommendations, viewing history, My List, saved games, and other settings.

As of today (10/18/2022) Tuesday, this new Netflix feature, which was released to all users worldwide, has been highly requested by users.

According to Netflix, you will receive an email notification when your account becomes available for profile transfer.

Then, to move the profile, the user hovers over the profile icon from the drop-down menu on the home page, selects the “move profile” option, and follows the prompts.

Leave a Comment

Close
Minimize
Page:
...
/
0
Please Wait
...
Second
Code: